I.C.E. (Audio) & Electrical Upgrades Post all your I.C.E. (In Car Entertainment) and wiring questions here (Audio, video etc.)

Any way to lock car doors when key is in ignition?

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
POQbum can only hope to improve
Any way to lock car doors when key is in ignition?

Alright so I'm a delivery driver.. I normally keep my car running with key in the ignition and gear in drive (I use the e-brake).

This is because parking it, and starting/stopping the engine causes unneeded wear, especially the transmission I hate messing with.

The problem I have is I want to lock my car while my key is still in the ignition, but when I try to use the remote it seems like it's deactivated.

Does someone know if it's possible to turn off this programming feature or some other way or method to lock your car doors while key is in the ignition?

Any help appreciated, cheers.

>> Honda Civic 2005 LX Coupe

Last edited by POQbum; 02-25-2012 at 09:34 PM.
Old 02-25-2012
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Any way to lock car doors when key is in ignition?

Since I have no effing clue what kind of car you have, I'll guess:

No.

Factory units disable the keyless with the ignition on.

You would have to do some creative wiring to get around it.
No clue what else that could effect.

Carry and use a spare key instead.
Old 02-25-2012
Registered!!

Originally Posted by ezone
Since I have no effing clue what kind of car you have, I'll guess:

No.