General 10th Gen Got a question or want to post but it doesn't quite fall under any other topic? Post up here!

New member. Question about Honda Civic reliability.

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2018
KAK
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
KAK is an unknown quantity at this point
New member. Question about Honda Civic reliability.

Hello. I'm considering a 2019 Civic LX Sport with CVT. I have zero experience with Honda's. It will be for my son who inherited an old Ranger that's about had it. At least it got him through college. It will probably be the coolest thing I'll ever be able to do for him so I want to make the right choice. I'm comparing it to the Toyota Corolla SE, Mazda 3 Touring, and Ford Focus SE.
The Civic rates very well or better in most categories. I was surprised to see the Civic got a lower rating for reliability. Other than the front collision warning system that gets poor ratings for being too sensitive, I read nothing about anything specific. So they must be scoring the 2019 based on previous years. Why would the Civic receive a lower reliability score? I heard that Civic's had timing chain issues in the past and the chain was supposed to be replaced at 75K or so and was an expensive repair. Kind of like if you own a Honda then it's part of owning one? I really don't know.
The Civic will probably cost about $1,500 more than the others. That's fine, I just want to make a good decision. My son will be doing a lot of travelling next year and reliability is important.
I appreciate any help.
Old 12-01-2018
Prelude Owner

Received 303 Likes on 214 Posts
GolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to behold