I.C.E. (Audio) & Electrical Upgrades Post all your I.C.E. (In Car Entertainment - Audio) and wiring questions here (Audio, video etc.)

Replace front door speakers - replace speaker wire?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2019
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CleMike is an unknown quantity at this point
Replace front door speakers - replace speaker wire?

Hey guys,
I have a 2017 Honda Civic Manual - basic model.
I am planning to install an amp, subwoofer, and replace the front speakers, keeping the stock head unit.
I have done this before on my old 2002 Honda Civic, but I had an aftermarket radio, so I am new to doing it with a stock head unit.
My amp has speaker level inputs, so I was planning on just tapping into my rear speakers because I don't want to mess with cutting any wires on the stock radio.

Questions:
1.) The guy on crutchfield said I could just tap into my rear speakers for the inputs when I said I didnt want to mess with the radio. He also said I should replace the stock speaker wire when I replace front doors and said that would run to my amp. Is it difficult to replace and reroute the stock speaker wires, would I need to mess with the radio if I do this? Where is it going into the amp?
2.) Is there a convenient wire to tap into for the remote turn on wire?

Thanks!
Old 10-19-2019
Prelude Owner

Received 303 Likes on 214 Posts
GolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to behold
Re: Replace front door speakers - replace speaker wire?