Honda Civic Forum

Honda Civic Forum (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/)
-   General Automotive Discussion (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/3-general-automotive-discussion)
-   -   Manual vs Auto (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/3-general-automotive-discussion/103672-manual-vs-auto.html)

reddawnman 05-31-2004 08:30 AM

Originally Posted by perry
when youre good, you can have fun with your girlfriend, and shift with your elbow... ;P

Dude, If' you know what you are doing, She'll be sure to shift FOR you so you dont HAVE to remove your hand :rofl:

02 silver si 05-31-2004 08:37 AM

I am a manual tranny driver. But if I wanted the SI I could not get a auto.

reddawnman 05-31-2004 09:00 AM

"The life of an automatic transmission is inversely proportional to the size and weight of the driver's right foot!" --My tranny mechanic after my Camry was pronounced dead.

I can't believe nobody else has referenced this one...
If you want to save money on maintenance, and have a car that last for-ev-er (Cue sandlot voice), get a stick, because the maintenance is going to be a clutch. On a hard-driven auto car, the first thing to really go will probably be either the timing belt or the tranny.

My last car was a V6 Camry, had 220K on it, and I used synthetic oil one it. Engine was immaculate and worth the down payment on my Civic. Why did I junk the car? Auto Tranny.

Tranny 1 died at 140K. Tranny 2 at 220K. Second one would have been 2200 bucks to fix.

I will always buy a stick, because you'll get your clutch done once every 120K, and it'll be a couple hundred bucks. The tranny will still be decent. Not so with an auto... And you gotta love engine braking, slowing down for the cop without your brake lites going on, and peeling out.

JX6 05-31-2004 10:07 AM

Can an 2001 Auto EX Coupe beat an coupe Manual LX?...or is it a drivers race?

sdl02 05-31-2004 10:26 PM

stick all the way...i will never go back to auto. i had one for a year and all it did was put me to sleep