Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Idle Problems, P1298/P0302, Here's What I've Done So Far

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2014
Honda Noob

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
greenlants is an unknown quantity at this point
Idle Problems, P1298/P0302, Here's What I've Done So Far

Hey everyone! Let me apologize up front for my lack of car repair knowledge. Before I started doing the work on my 2001 Honda Civic EX Coupe (155k miles), pretty much the only other thing I knew how to do was put gas in it, change the battery, coil wires, small stuff like that. I'm currently a delivery driver, so I really need to get this idling issue fixed so I can get back on the road safely!

So, here's what I've done so far...

First, once I noticed I probably shouldn't be driving it since it was idling so roughly, and the CEL was flashing, I took it to AutoZone so they could check for codes. The lady said there were no codes. I think she was using a smaller cheaper scanner, and that she might not know what she was doing... (not because she was a girl, just she seemed kind of unsure). So I started doing research online, not wanting/able to afford to spend a lot for someone else to do guesswork and fix it.

I started with small things. I changed the air filter. I went to go change the spark plugs and saw there was oil in the first 2 cylinders. I read up on that. With a friends supervision that knew about cars, I changed the valve cover gasket and spark plugs gaskets (not the ones under the rocker arms, I haven't gotten that brave yet!), and put in new spark plugs. That still didn't fix it...