Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Unknown Problem!

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2013
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
zerochance is an unknown quantity at this point
Unknown Problem!

Hello,

I am an owner of a 2001 Honda civic ex. I have been reading around and I can not seem to find a right answer at all. I am not a car expert so I will need as much help as I can get. The problem is my heat is not working. A/C works perfectly fine. Story is, it wasn't working until I took it to the shop last year and switched thermostats with a full coolant flush. It worked after that but after a few months it died. A few months after it died it decided to work again oddly but then after another few months after that it has died again and it does not work. It blows heat but very little heat (a little cooler than room temp) and once I turn the defroster on it only blows cold air.

I was reading the forums and they said it could be my thermostat but I switched that last year, but it could be a faulty new one (done at the shop) and I also got a coolant flush at the same time. Second, they said it could have been a blockage with the cabin air filter... opened that and there was no filter.... could it have been clogged by dust, leaves, and other things? Third is the heat fuse.... I switched it with my power windows fuse and it seems to be working just fine. Could it be the heater core? I have no idea what is wrong and winter is comming. I need help! any advices will help! thank you so much guys!
Old 09-25-2013
7th Gen Civic DIY Enthusiast!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Matt_75 is a jewel in the roughMatt_75 is a jewel in the roughMatt_75 is a jewel in the roughMatt_75 is a jewel in the rough
Re: Unknown Problem!