Transmission Post your issues with Transmissions here! Transmission covers from Flywheel, Clutch, Transmission, Axles.

Newb with a question..

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2013
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CaptainPicardX is an unknown quantity at this point
Newb with a question..

Hello all. Newb here. I got a 2005 civic Lx manual, recenty had to change the clutch kit (I'm a mechanic at a shop) also had to change trans, due to input shaft bearing being bad (cheaper where I'm at, than the cost to change the bearing.)

I got the transmission from Syncrotech in Cali ( I think). Here is the issue:

Before when I did around 80 mph my rpm would be around 3K, and my engine is barelly loud ( I do have intake and exahust on it though) but still barely audible, but now i get to 60-65 its running at 3-3.3K easy. I dont know for sure what the old rmps were, but I know that now when I do around 80-85 the rmps are around 4- 4200. Seems to me that the other trans had longer gear ratios or something. Before my rpms were around 4K when I do 90 mph.

I called the guy, and he said he gave me a DX trans, and after like 2 hours of calling different people everyone ( and dealer) tells me they are the same. Also it seems to me that the low end acceleration before (50 mph ) is faster too.

Is this gonna mess up my engine in any way? Is this normal I could of sworn the rpms were lower with the other trans. Should I just leave this one in? The damn shipping was $130 by itself, it may be cheaper to just leave this one in.

I'd really like one of you guys that has an LX with manual trans to kind of record what your rmps are at 60 mphs and 80 mph, would appreciate it....

Denis

Last edited by CaptainPicardX; 02-12-2013 at 08:06 PM.
Old 02-12-2013
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts