General 8th & 9th Gen Got a question or want to post but it doesn't quite fall under any other topic? Post up here!

Alarm does not set from key

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2018
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Superbacon is an unknown quantity at this point
Alarm does not set from key

I'm a driver of a 2008 Civic Hybrid. Purchased June '17 with no problems.

Back in May this year I went on a trip to EDC Vegas where I was out of town for close to a week. I left my car parked at my friend's place in northern Illinois. After getting home I found the alarm on my car no longer set from my key.
It still locks (no flashing lights), unlocks (with lights flashing), opens the trunk, and the panic button works. True for both keys. But I got it to set once from the spare key, but only once.
I suspect a fuse might have blown in a heat wave while I was out of town. I just don't know where that fuse could be. There aren't any fuses for the anti-theft or alarm under the hood or by the left knee. Unless it isn't a fuse. I figure this has to be isolated to the alarm system since everything else works. All doors and windows are definitely closed.
The only thing I've tried so far is replacing the horn fuse which did nothing.
I'm thinking I'll go to my dealership to try and diagnose the problem but I want to try and fix it myself. Haha I just need to know what causing it. Anyone experience this before or know what's the cause?
Old 07-27-2018
35+ Years Driving Japanese Autos

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
CraigW is a glorious beacon of lightCraigW is a glorious beacon of lightCraigW is a glorious beacon of lightCraigW is a glorious beacon of lightCraigW is a glorious beacon of lightCraigW is a glorious beacon of lightCraigW is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Alarm does not set from key

Do you have the red/orange indicator in dash (flashes when alarm is set)

No lights when locking may be a sign of issue.

On my 2010 LX just closing all doors will set the alarm.