Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

99 Civic LX - TPS - Replaceable or no?

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
StuB is an unknown quantity at this point
99 Civic LX - TPS - Replaceable or no?

Hey folks,

I've got a '99 Honda Civic LX. Recently the check engine light came on after some noticeable issues (mostly late shifting or erratic jolts), so I headed on over to Autozone to have it read out. The error is P0122 aka "Throttle/Pedal position sensor 'a' electrical circuit input signal had low voltage for a predetermined period of time'.

My guess is that the sensor itself has issues, and from some youtube videos and a maintenance manual, it seems that the sensor should be replaceable.

That said, I'm not a mechanic. I know electronics to a 'T' and could easily calibrate the TPS once installed, but between not having the right mechanical tools and this not being the kind of thing I'd want to break my teeth on, so I figured I'd take it to a mechanic.

They took a look while I was in a waiting room, and when they came back they said that the TPS was not replaceable; that the entire throttle body would have to be replaced.
I'm not generally prone to conjecture, but given the earlier findings, I suspect they just didn't want to deal with the break-away bolts and/or were hoping to upsell (though when asked how much the entire body would cost, they couldn't get a price).

That said, my engine bay does look different from those in the videos (where the TPS was easily accessed between the throttle body and the body of the car), so - being not-a-mechanic - I can't say with any certainty whether they were full of it.