Parts and Products Post new products, talk about parts other than electrical, drivetrain and suspension.

Which Alarm?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2002
Extreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ZSKCivic01 is an unknown quantity at this point
Which Alarm?

Hey everyone, last night my car got vandalized badly and my stock alarm didn't go off when they smashed in one of my windows. Now I want a new alarm. I need help picking out one and I need to know some good brand names. I would prefer one that has motion senors that can be deactivated when I don't need it. Do you all have any ideas?
Old 04-28-2002
Registered!!

01civicboi is an unknown quantity at this point
any of the Vipers or basically anything that DEI makes are decent. it all boils down to WHO installs it and how good of a job they do
Old 04-28-2002
Registered!!

rickinthescv will become famous soon enoughrickinthescv will become famous soon enough
I was an installer for 13 years and I can totally agree that any alarm is only as good as the installer who put it in. I have fixed countless alarms that were mysteriously malfunctioning, only to take the car apart and find a rat's nest with tons of shoddy mistakes. I have had great luck at both chains and megastores. The bottom line is this.

Is the alarm a reputable company. Can you find the name in any decent magazine. Car Audio does tons of reviews, check them out. What is the warranty and how long have they been in business. If they don't have a lifetime warranty, you will get what you pay for. There are many alarms that are basically cheap Taiwan units that only have a name slapped on them and claimed to work great. And what is the shop's warranty? If they don't offer a lifetime warranty on labor, then skip them.