Electrical, Wiring, and In Car Entertainment Electrical, Wiring and In Car Entertainment questions belong here.

99 civic coupe no brake lights

Old 04-07-2018
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stevenw is an unknown quantity at this point
99 civic coupe no brake lights

hello I’ve read a few threads but can’t seem to get my brake lights fixed. The fuse under the hood is good. The brake light switch is good I just replaced it. It seems I get power up until a plug on the driver side in the backseat behind the panel. So I jumped the wired around it with no results. As soon as I connect the wires I lose all power. But everything else works taillights, blinkers, hazards. I’m no electrician but does the wire losing power mean it’s broken somewhere or shorting out? I’m not sure what to do. thanks for any responses
Old 04-07-2018
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 99 civic coupe no brake lights

Losing power generally indicates a poor connection/high resistance. Somewhere.

Connect everything, all wiring

Start at brake light switch, with pedal depressed, you should see 12v on both sides of switch.

Follow harness to next connector.....Backprobe rearward half of connector. If you have 12v then continue to next connector in the circuit....until you find where power is lost.

BUT if you checked the rearward half of the connector and found 12v missing, check same wire on the front half. If you have 12v on one side but not the other, open the plug and check why power was lost.