Fuel, Oil, Cleaners & Other Maintenance Extending the life of your Civic requires the proper fuel, oil, and cleaners, along with other regularly scheduled maintenance.

80K Mile ATF Flush

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2010
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
FrankMazzarella is an unknown quantity at this point
Question 80K Mile ATF Flush

Hey, I have a 2004 Honda Civic LX with about 80,000 miles on it and im starting to feel my transmission downshift quite hard. I have never done anything like this before and the fluid looks like a reddish-brown and does not have a burnt smell. I dont think the color is terrible, but i feel I should take care of this now before anything happens.

I have only owned this vehicle for about 6 months and I dont know how well the transmission has been cared for. My question is how many times I should change the fluid in order to flush it and how much driving should i do in between. Also, I know that this is a big job but should I consider replacing the filter?

Thanks and BTW, would anyone know how much ATF-Z1 I should purchace and what a good price is for that?
Old 05-05-2010
Registered!!

cchiang12 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 80K Mile ATF Flush

If you have ever changed your own engine oil, then you could do the ATF.
The only difference is that you pour back the amount you took out.
And you need a big long funnel to reach the ATF dip stick : )
For you, I would do an ATF "flush" only because you don't know what the previous owner did.

Concerning ATF, and I've also did a lot research on this, there are more people that would stick with Honda's ATF than not.
Since I have 170,000 miles on my civic, I wasn't willing to risk it, so I stick with the Honda ATF-Z1.
It is couple dollars more expensive (per qt) than the generic brand--only because you are getting it from the dealer.
As for how many times you should do it:
You let it drain/refill 3 times (with a very short drive in between), I think that's the proper procedure.