Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

civic chick overheating after a long trip! 2005 SI EX

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2015
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
alinaray is an unknown quantity at this point
civic chick overheating after a long trip! 2005 SI EX

Hey everyone this is my first time post but I have been on here reading for over a month now and WOW whata cool place💜👍I now feel I know more then the mechanics looking at my car.Here it is...I bought this 05 civic si ex in may of 2015 so I have only had it for 3 months😔 the car had 190,000 km on it Iknow a bit high but she is a beauty. I drive it daily and havehad it on the highway for 4 300 ml trips and smooth sailing.last week iI come off the highway and into tim Horton's drive threw and notice my temp gauge peek sailing on up to H and fast so I shut her ddown right there and held up the line.lol.popped the hood and yup coolant red spit out over everything. I cooled her down and came back with water the rad didn't need muchI.iI was able to drive home as it wasn't far and now cool the temp was fine.so the next day I bring it in to a local garage and he did a combustion test on the rad with the blue magic juice and it did NOT turn yellow .his test tube did not have a pressure squeeze ball on the end like Isee on you tube??? DDidn't know if that mattered? So he can't get it to overheat and a negative tube test he said he did a flow test and all good.he sends me on my way and says I think ur thermostat was just stuck ??? OK ??? Still no answer .so I am all over here have probably read every post and am trying all these test on my own super frustrating .I have been driving all around town not ever faster then 80 km and all is good no temp climb no rise in coolant res??? As soon as I give the engine and good go and then slow my speed tto stop itover