Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Head gasket failure

Old 02-28-2015
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
mel1803 is an unknown quantity at this point
Head gasket failure

My daughter bought a 05 civic ex special ed. 2months later it overheated.I've been a auto tech for almost 40 years,it was a bad head gasket.I did the head gasket job with new head bolts, had the head milled they did a valve job too.The car ran great till just a week ago when she called me and said she had no heat,i told her to stop by my shop and the car is out of anti freeze again,no external leaks that i can see since then we've filled it every other day with anti freeze.It looks like another head gasket problem again.My question is has anyone seen block problems with these engines?
Old 02-28-2015
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Head gasket failure

Moved to a new thread.

I personally have not seen cracked heads or blocks in my little corner of the planet, but that's not saying much. Severe overheats can cause strange, mysterious damage.

I've seen plenty of botched jobs over the years for various reasons.

Machined surfaces MUST be flat and extremely smooth.
MLS gaskets generally require a finish of less than 30rA.