Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

AC belt squeals. need some solid answers please

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
raymondxcho is an unknown quantity at this point
AC belt squeals. need some solid answers please

I've looked around everywhere to figure out why and how to fix my A/C belt squealing. (7thgenhonda, clubcivic, here) The most I find is vague short answers.

My 01 Civic's AC works fine. It just squeals like a there's no tomorrow only when my car is cold. And it lasts for ~20 seconds (I play with my clutch to sort of shut it up (doesn't really work)). I hear chirps every now and then but that's really about it.

I want to fix this problem while the problem is still small and I have very little knowledge when it comes to belts. I have learned that the A/C belt is shared with other components like the alternator so I'm a little worried that my alternator might get affected too.

I know where the alternator is but not the A/C stuff. I don't know where the belt is either.

The car also squeals when the AC is not on but only when the car is cold if that says anything. But this happens a lot less often. The AC squealing happens almost every time the car is cold.

Please help a guy out I'd love to be informed about this stuff so I can take care of future problems myself.

Thanks
Old 07-21-2012
Registered!!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
lazlong has much to be proud oflazlong has much to be proud oflazlong has much to be proud oflazlong has much to be proud oflazlong has much to be proud oflazlong has much to be proud oflazlong has much to be proud oflazlong has much to be proud oflazlong has much to be proud oflazlong has much to be proud oflazlong has much to be proud of
Re: AC belt squeals. need some solid answers please