Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

MPG issue?

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yanksrox2 is an unknown quantity at this point
MPG issue?

I drive an automatic 2004 honda civic coupe ex and i am not a mechanical person at all. well i always drive city and always average 23-25 mpg. i see people who seem to get like mid 30 and like 400+ miles on a tank. i get like 250 if im lucky. Is this normal or do i have a problem.
Old 01-28-2012
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: MPG issue?

Originally Posted by Yanksrox2
Is this normal or do i have a problem.
Could be either.

Depends on fuel.
Depends on weather.
Depends on how you drive.
Depends on the condition of the car.

Any time the engine is running and you aren't moving, your calculated mileage goes DOWN.

The window sticker says "Your mileage may vary" for a reason.

I can make my Civic get 15 if I really try, and I have made it get 50 on the highway. Those are extremes though, and not my normal driving habits.
Old 01-29-2012
Whachya lookin at?

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts