Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

New Owner: A couple of questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2011
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Predatorytrep is an unknown quantity at this point
New Owner: A couple of questions

Hey guys,

Girlfriend's family surprised her with a 2005 Honda Civic Coupe EX the other day, and I had a few questions about some of the things with it. Im completely new to foreign vehicles, with the exception of a Mazda, which was basically a Ford anyways. lol.

- The airbag light was on. Took it to the dealership, and they wanted $400 to repair it. Wasn't with the g/f when she took it, so I'm not what they told her needed to be done.
I have a Dodge Intrepid, and I know on my car if the airbag light is on, the airbags won't deploy period until its fixed.. Is this the same for her car?

- Heater doesn't seem to work except under throttle. Checked coolant level and it was fine. Any type of bleeder valve that I can use to get any air out of the system that might be in there? And what else could cause this other than a bad heater core (would like that to be a last resort fix)?

- Lastly, the car seems to pull kind of hard to the right. From what I understand, these cars don't have adjustable alignment like I do, and if its pulling a certain direction, its usually b/c of the tires, and not the car itself. Is this true??

Thanks guys, and I hope to have a great time with the car and on the forums!
Old 08-22-2011
Premium Member
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts