Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Battery Light

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2011
fmg
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
fmg is an unknown quantity at this point
Battery Light

I am not good at the whole car thing, but I wanted to make sure that when the battery light comes on that means I probably need a new alternator.

The main question that I have is that do I need to get a Honda alternator or can I get a generic one? Also how hard is it to do it yourself. My boyfriend is ok with cars maybe I can just buy the part and get him to replace it.

Thanks,

Frances

2003 Honda Civic LX Sedan
Old 06-29-2011
A descendant of 2k1civic.com

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
pheaton is a glorious beacon of lightpheaton is a glorious beacon of lightpheaton is a glorious beacon of lightpheaton is a glorious beacon of lightpheaton is a glorious beacon of lightpheaton is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Battery Light

When mine went out I had a battery light. If you are confident it is not your battery I would suspect the alternator for sure. You can easily pull your battery and have it tested at any local parts place.

Second, I would buy the Honda if possible. Surprisingly, when I did mine, I was able to get a new Honda alternator for 2 or 3 dollars cheaper than an aftermarket brand. That's not much savings, but it was enough for me to go with the Honda one instead. I would look at it this way. The original Honda one lasted you 8 years or so. That's pretty good, I'd just get another one.

Replacement is a bit of a pain, but it's not terrible. Not something I would attempt if you have never worked on cars, but anyone that feels comfortable tackling moderate jobs themselves would be able to do it.