Transmission Post your issues with Transmissions here! Transmission covers from Flywheel, Clutch, Transmission, Axles.

Transmission doesn't stay in Drive

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2011
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
POQbum can only hope to improve
Transmission doesn't stay in Drive

This is becoming more of a problem, I'm a part time delivery driver and when I'm working I'll shift from parked, reverse and drive dozens of times within an hour.

Sometimes when I put it into drive, the green light on the dash isn't lit- and no matter how much I try and get it to fully get in, it just doesn't. If I try to accelerate, I'll have a moderate amount of grinding with reduced power- so of course I stop.

What I normally do is throw it into D3 and that'll shift in perfectly and drive really great. But there is a bunch of 55mph roads that I need to go on and I don't like having my engine rev up so high when on them.

Any suggestions on what is needed would be great.
About 4 months ago I didn't have this problem, but I had reached 65k on my car with practically no maintenance since buying it (besides oil and brake pads). I asked for new transmission fluid but the mechanic said it was clean so he didn't do it.

>> It seems to be doing a little better with the temps getting higher, but it might just be my mind making it up.

Any suggestion on what to do would be great. I don't trust my mechanic, I asked him to do a bunch of things 4 months ago and all he did was change the oil and said everything was great, even though I hear my brakes squeak on a daily basis (something else I had asked him to change).

So let me know, sorry for long post
Old 02-18-2011
Live for the Twisties
Administrator

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts