Canada East Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, PEI, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland

Toronto people: speeding ticket question

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2005
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
jpan_home is on a distinguished road
Toronto people: speeding ticket question

Hi,

A little background: I received my license more than 10 years ago and I have been driving consistently since 1997. No tickets, no at-fault accidents, nothing.

Yesterday, I got pulled over for speeding, 75km/h in a 50km/h zone. 3 points and a wad of cash.

I truly do not believe I was speeding (as I was driving among a slow pack of cars) and I want to fight the ticket. Should I hire pros to do the job for me, or should I do it myself?

Money is of great concern to me, that's why I'm debating whether to do it myself.

Thanks!
Old 07-05-2005
Registered!!

SlowStockCivic is an unknown quantity at this point
Well, the points means nothing to insurance. keep that in mind. If the cop shows up in court, the best you can do is get the speeding ticket reduced to 15km/h and over which the fine will be also reduced. For a ticket like this, i wouldn't bother going with those traffic ticket paralegal thieves becuase chances are, they will reduce the ticket aswell and you still end up with a ticket at the end along with the paralegal fees

I've used those thieves before but let's jsut say that my ticket was way over 50mh/k where I didn't even get a speeding ticket, it was just a summons to court and those thieves got my ticket reduced to a regular speeding ticket qwhich i could of done on my own too.

Since it's your first ticket, insurance won't even care. I would jsut fight it on my own and if cop does show, either you have proof that you were not going over the speed limit or get the ticekt reduced.
Old 07-05-2005
Registered!!

BigE19 has a spectacular aura aboutBigE19 has a spectacular aura about
Originally Posted by SlowStockCivic