Bolt-on Engine Performance Post questions/information about intakes, exhausts, headers, lightweight pulleys or flywheels? It belongs here.

just muffler vs cat-back?

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2003
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
malice29r is an unknown quantity at this point
just muffler vs cat-back?

Hey,

I'm a newb to car stuff, so sorry if this is a stupid question, i'm sure enough get posted here as it is...

I was just wondering why it's better to go with a full cat-back system rather than just replacing the muffler? don't they both basically accomplish the same thing?

I'm asking because i'm interested in doing something with the back end of the exhaust for both looks and sound.. and the cat backs are quite expensive (for the decent ones anyways) I also don't care about HP gains... for the amount you can put into an exhaust system it's just not worth the ridiculously low HP you get out of it... (IMO anyways)

So based on what i'm looking for, do you think popping a SS performance muffler in there will get the job done (at least til I can afford puttin money into the car..)?

Thanks for any opinions

btw, everything else is still stock, including the intake... i'm interested in putting a K&N FIPK 2 in there eventually - should I try putting that on there first to try to get the sound I want out of it instead of going straight for the exhaust?
Old 11-17-2003
Retired suspension supermod.
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

robbclark1 is a splendid one to beholdrobbclark1 is a splendid one to beholdrobbclark1 is a splendid one to beholdrobbclark1 is a splendid one to beholdrobbclark1 is a splendid one to beholdrobbclark1 is a splendid one to beholdrobbclark1 is a splendid one to beholdrobbclark1 is a splendid one to beholdrobbclark1 is a splendid one to beholdrobbclark1 is a splendid one to beholdrobbclark1 is a splendid one to behold