Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

99 civic bad water pump cause engine to die?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2014
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
dmatlo00 is an unknown quantity at this point
99 civic bad water pump cause engine to die?

I was driving down the interstate when suddenly engine died (felt like ran out of gas but have full tank) car was normal temp. Car would turn over, but wouldn't start. looked under the hood coolant was all over the passenger side near back of engine and fire wall. I have had a small coolant leak prior to this. Radiator looks ok but was completely empty (cap was not hot at all after driving for 45 minutes!) as was the reserve, appeared that the coolant came from back side of engine. I am not a mechanic, but my guess is the water pump quit. Is this possible without the engine over heating? Is there a setting that shuts engine off when water pump quits, or could it effect the timing belt which caused it to die and not start? From what i read it could be lots of things, but from the fact that coolant was everywhere i assume it has to do with water pump. Sorry i am a very novice mechanic and may not be able to explain things well but please help! Car is currently setting on the interstate waiting to be towed.
Old 02-08-2014
Super Moderator

Received 21 Likes on 8 Posts
Poopies is a glorious beacon of lightPoopies is a glorious beacon of lightPoopies is a glorious beacon of lightPoopies is a glorious beacon of lightPoopies is a glorious beacon of lightPoopies is a glorious beacon of light
Re: 99 civic bad water pump cause engine to die?