Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Low Acceleration, No Power

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
juztin888 is an unknown quantity at this point
Low Acceleration, No Power

Newbie here, and I'm happy about reading and finding interesting things that is helping my Civic run smoothly.

But lately, I am having some problems with the acceleration of my Honda Civic VTi '96. So I decided to have a "Top-Overhaul" because a couple of weeks ago, the car let on overheating, then water is mixing with the engine oil already. Cylinder Head Gasket was changed 3x! Here are some details:

Mileage is more than 169K.

1st Head gasket change:
New head gasket, changed 2 surplus cylinders from Banawe because there were scratch marks on the old head cylinder and the cylinder rings does not move freely. Had the Cylinder head block brought to the machine shop (Roque,QC) which cost about P7,960. change oil, changed oil filter, changed to a surplus radiator, etc...mostly just the cylinder head was mainly fixed. After 2 days of fixing, it was done. Had a test run, and it ran smoothly! But noticed that the idle was a bit high, had a hard time adjusting it to the right level. But decided to run it anyways. That night, went out but noticed that the temp gauged was signaling the heat going up until almost red, then that night almost 8x ako nag refill ng water. Next day sent it back to the shop.
2nd Head Gasket change: