I.C.E. (Audio) & Electrical Upgrades Post all your I.C.E. (In Car Entertainment) and wiring questions here (Audio, video etc.)

Overpowering components? Ported vs sealed?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2006
Boredom causes changes ;)
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Karumba has a spectacular aura aboutKarumba has a spectacular aura aboutKarumba has a spectacular aura about
Overpowering components? Ported vs sealed?

As you'll probably learn from this thread/post - I'm a noob still in the audio realm but trying to learn. Probably not well enough, but so be it...

I have a friend selling his amplifiers for a decent price - the one I am interested in being a JL audio 450/4 amp. Seeing as how I want to upgrade my front speakers to components, I am wondering if I am choosing the right ones or if this amplifier is too much for them :dunno: At the moment, the decision would lie between Infinity Kappa Perfect 6.1 or CDT CL-62a for front components. Both are around the same price range ~$225 US, unless someone can recommend something else within that price-range

However, the problem lies in the fact that the Pefects are supposed to take 100 watts RMS (with a peak of 400 ) - while the CDTs are supposed to take 130 watts (unsure of the peak)

The JL 450/4 gives 150 watts to the front (in stereo mode - as it would probably be set-up). Is this too much power/harmful or fine ? :dunno: I am assuming it is fine, but I would rather care to know(/be explained moreso)prior to purchasing the amp.

Also, I'm assuming I can run the amp in stereo mode, but possible not include any rear speakers into the mix. I think I'd rather my rear-fill as the sub instead of other speakers for the time being (ie saving money) but have the ability to upgrade with other speakers as the amplifier still allows it.
---