Fuel, Oil, Cleaners & Other Maintenance Extending the life of your Civic requires the proper fuel, oil, and cleaners, along with other regularly scheduled maintenance.

Engine Coolant

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2005
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
taehoshi is an unknown quantity at this point
Engine Coolant

I checked my engine coolant today and noticed it was a bit under the minimum point. I bought some coolant today and was wondering if im supposed to just top it up to the proper level or remove the old coolant altogether. And if i have to remove the old coolant where is the plug release located? yeah, im a newb.

thanks for your help.
Old 10-26-2005
Registered!!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
streetglower is a name known to allstreetglower is a name known to allstreetglower is a name known to allstreetglower is a name known to allstreetglower is a name known to allstreetglower is a name known to allstreetglower is a name known to all
if it is below the minimum line, fill it up between the min and max line. You dont have to remove the old coolant, just top it off. Its better to buy a 50/50 pre mix of coolant vs. most that are just straight antifreeze.

Now if you want to drain the coolant from the overflow tank and refill, you can unbolt it and pull the tank out and drain it, or to remove the coolant from the radiator, there is a plug underneath the radiator to drain it. Also there is one on the block, but unless you have some good tools to remove that bolt and some patience, no need to worry about it. it drains the coolant from the block that is in there, but draining the radiator is ok.

the above is really is you are adding new coolant to the system.
Old 10-26-2005
Registered!!

taehoshi is an unknown quantity at this point
the coolant in my car is a few years old. is it ok to mix the existing coolant with the new coolant i bought today? theyre different brands. ty for your help, btw.
Old 10-26-2005
Registered!!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts