Member's Rides Show off your rides progression thru mods or post up your detail job and that new mod. Your goal: make everyone jealous!

Can someone please tell me what I've just bought???

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2013
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
91olds98 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Can someone please tell me what I've just bought???

My name is James and I've just bought my first Honda yesterday and I'm a decent mechanic...on American V8s. This Honda is a whole different ball game, and I'm humble to say; I have no idea what I'm doing and genuinely need help. I'm a really nice person, not just some punk who wants to pimp his civic. My play days are over. I still love horsepower and having fun, but I don't wanna be loud and obnoxious. I want a great sleeper, and I have the perfect blank template. I bought a 1995 civic coupe, white, with manual everything. 1.5L SOHC engine. 160,000 on the clock, but a brand new 5spd manual tranny, clutch, flywheel, and cv axles. It runs GREAT, timing belt done recently too, NO oil leaks and well maintained. No factory power steering but does have factory a/c, which still works great, blows ice cold.

My VIN is: IHGEJ2122SL063585. My questions are as follows, only serious answers please, I'm a noob to this, just respectfully asking for good advice:

1.) What do I have here? A DX, VX, CX, LX or what? Only thing I know is that it's definitely not an EX.
2.) What's my engine code? (D15? Or what?)
3.) if I were to perform an engine swap, what's the best, easiest, spicific engine to mate up with my factory 5 speed? My needs are this, a quick, moderately quiet A-B car. I won't be out racing it just zipping joyfully around town. Don't need a huge horsepower gain, but I gotta do something here.