Wheels, Tires & Brakes Modifications Post Wheel, Tire & Brake related modification information and/or questions here

Bigger Brakes - OEM options

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
tonyguns is an unknown quantity at this point
Bigger Brakes - OEM options

Hello all...

First let me preface my question with some details about me. I am quite new to driving a honda that was built after 2000, so things that swap onto my car with little to no mods(OEM Parts) is a complete unknown to me.

I read the brake DIY but I do have questions.

What I want: Bigger brakes, better stopping power with an OEM, bolt on solution.

What I have: 2001 Civic Automatic Coupe with the stock motor, it Does have ABS which I want to retain.

What's been done so far: Larger diameter Eibach front and rear sway bars, Koni Sport rear shocks, 16" 35mm offset wheels and tires.

Any help would be great. I am not opposed to 5 lug options, but the real goal is to stop better, as this car's braking is **** poor.

Thanks!
Old 05-09-2016
Dr Krieger of Modification

Received 84 Likes on 58 Posts
mac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to behold
Re: Bigger Brakes - OEM options

The car should brake fine, your rotors are probably glassed, and/or, your pads are made to be quiet, not a true performance pad.

Even if you grab a set of scrap yard brakes, buy new rotors and performance pads.
Old 05-09-2016
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts