Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Downshifting Resistance....

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2002
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tyler is an unknown quantity at this point
Downshifting Resistance....

Does this happen to you guys. I just bought a new civic si coupe 2002 model... I have noticed that when I I downshift from a higher gear to a lower gear, it's kinda clunky.. like it's trying to lock me out. This is the method I use say when I'm at 4th gear, 1) clutch 2) shift to 3rd 3) slowly let out the clutch.. this is done with the intention of slowing down and being in the proper gear when.. let say exiting a turn.. but as I'm shifting to 3rd, it's locking and kinda clunky... I think that there is a safety feature that does not allow you to shift into 1st gear, but every gear?? I'm kinda new to the stick and have just read up on tones of material on proper shifting.. needless to say, I was not 100% shifting properlly.. but I dunno if this locking is due to my shifting (as in I need to double clutch to correct it) or the car itself. I've done a search too, and have not found an adaquate answer, thanks for all the help.[IMG]i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif[/IMG][IMG]i/expressions/beer_yum.gif[/IMG]
Old 11-12-2002

Vinh is a glorious beacon of lightVinh is a glorious beacon of lightVinh is a glorious beacon of lightVinh is a glorious beacon of lightVinh is a glorious beacon of lightVinh is a glorious beacon of light
i believe its your clutch engagement point
yeah....the clutch engagement point is weird on these new civics
just try pressing the clutch all the way down then shift and release

i personally don't downshift to slow down......i just put it back in
neutral to slow down
Old 11-12-2002
Registered!!