Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Crank No start fixed, but acting funny

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2018
Registered!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Alfie17 is an unknown quantity at this point
Crank No start fixed, but acting funny

Hello all,

I have been using and reading this forum since i got my 2005 civic LX se 5spd about 7 years ago, I bought it with ~70k miles and now it has ~160k, stock everything no mods.

Back story of the issue:

Last year i did a timing belt (Gates), and tensioner (Honda) and everything went smooth. Fast forward to 1 week ago. The car died on my way home from work, stalled when i came to a stop in mid boston traffic! it was a clean stall, i didn't feel anything until i tried to go, car would crank but not start so i got it to start by pressing the gas pedal but would stall as soon as i released it, so i got it towed home. No CEL

Once home i unplugged the crank sensor and the car started up but idle roughly so i shut it down checked the timing marks and it was off by about 1 tooth. I removed the upper timing belt cover to see that the rubber seal of the lower timing belt cover had come loose and i figured thats what cause my issue. I also had a lot of oil around my crank sensor. I replace everything again belt (gates), tensioner, cranksensor, oil pump o-ring and seal, oil pan gasket, cam seal, and valve cover gasket (everything HONDA including sensor), and i got a new alternator under warranty from autozone, and i put a new battery (old one was dated 2011).