Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Bent Washers on Spark Plugs?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2018
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
tbroyles94 is an unknown quantity at this point
Bent Washers on Spark Plugs?

Hi, I'm new to the world of car ownership and fixing, but I successfully changed out my spark plugs (yay me) after my check engine light came on, with codes saying cylinders 2, 3, and 4 misfired. I have a 2002 Honda Civic EX. My question is that the washer/gasket/sealer bits of the spark plugs I took out from the 3 misfired cylinders were bent and stuck some length up the threads. I just wanted to check here to see if that is a an issue caused by something else that will reoccur on my new spark plugs, or just a coincidence from me taking them out? What causes bent gaskets?

This is a sharable link from my Google Drive to show a photo of what I mean. I couldn't get it to attach normally to the post, so I had to improvise...
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Az...NBahaEK2BK4ilM

Thanks for your help!
Old 07-18-2018
Prelude Owner

Received 303 Likes on 214 Posts
GolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to behold
Re: Bent Washers on Spark Plugs?

I think they are supposed to be bent or cupped to create a downward pressure. As you loosened the plug the washer probably just worked it’s way down.

What plugs did you put in? Iridium?
Old 07-18-2018
Super Moderator

Received 1,863 Likes on 1,309 Posts