Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Power Steering and Rear Cam Plug

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2014
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002-Civic-DX is an unknown quantity at this point

Hey guys i'm new to the civic forums and i am seeking some advice and help on my civic. I took my 02 civic to a honda mechanic and he had replaced both strut assemblies in the front and did an oil change. He then told me that i had a small oil leak coming from the rear cam plug. He said that it would need to be resealed. So does that mean i would have to buy a new seal? If i do have to get a new seal, would i have to buy an o-ring or does that come with the new seal?
Old 05-13-2014
Registered!!

Hey guys i have a 2002 civic dx and there is a leak in the power steering hose so i will be replacing that, does anyone know how the long the job will take?
And i need to reseal my rear cam plug, if i bought a new seal would i also need to buy an o-ring separate? Thanks for the input!
Old 05-13-2014
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Civic Maintenance

Welcome to the forum!

You would buy the cam plug from a dealer, it comes with the needed seal as a one-piece unit.
About $9.
Pop the old one out, snap the new one in. Easy DIY.

Plug is item #6 here

Link to dealer in R.I., discount mail order: