Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Was I overcharged? (2005 Honda Civic)

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2014
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
nailz73235 is an unknown quantity at this point
Was I overcharged? (2005 Honda Civic)

Newbie here... and (not so proud) owner of a $400 repair bill from a local repair shop. Can somebody who's more knowledgeable than I am let me know whether I was overcharged for my repair?

Here's the deal: My "malfunction" light illuminated on a Tuesday. I went to a garage recommended by a coworker. They used a gauge and said it was likely my oxygen sensor causing the problem.

Long story short... about a week later, I brought my 2005 Civic in for repair. I got a call about two hours later, and the mechanic told me that the problem was NOT my "oxygen sensor" but, rather, was my "air to fuel ratio sensor." He said the air to fuel ratio sensor was a primary sensor and, thus, more expensive to replace.

He charged me $275 for the air to fuel ratio sensor, plus about $90 for labor and $35 in taxes. So, in total, approximately $400 for my bill.

Is this a fair price to be charged by a mechanic?

I ask this as somebody with ZERO automotive knowledge. Therefore, me doing the repair myself would have been a total impossibility. The only question is which garage to take the car to. Did I make a good, bad or neutral choice here?
Old 03-03-2014
Registered!!

my_first_civic is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Was I overcharged? (2005 Honda Civic)

I had to do the same for mine but it was both sensors did it my self and it costed me the same so id say you got a deal
Old 03-03-2014
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts