Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Help installing aftermarket cd player

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ranners is an unknown quantity at this point
Help installing aftermarket cd player

Hello everyone,
I am very new to working on cars and I thought it would be a good idea to start with installing acd player as I anticipated failure but I didn't want to break my car. So I got a used honda, and the aftermarket cd player stopped taking cds, so i thought I would get a new one. As the old one was a Pioneer I figured I'd get a new pioneer to make my transition a bit easier. However after removing the old one, I noticed that the cable converter no longer fit into the new one so i had to use the one supplied to me in the new box. After doing all the rewiring and insuring that all the cables are matched up together I turned on my car and no power, even when pressing the power button (i actually pressed all the buttons). I then removed the butt connectors from the ground, constant, and ignition wires and twisted the copper directly to each other to insure connectivity, however same result. I then thought it was a bad unit so i reinstalled the old unit so i could atleast listen to radio but same result. So now I have a unit sitting there with no way to turn it on.

So I assume my problem is that I pulled something somewhere, I know this is very vague but if anyone needs more information than tell me where to look and i'll be happy to get it. My main question would be, is there some set of cables I should verify are plugged in? my concern right now is just getting power to the unit.

my car is: Honda 2003 Civic DX

Thanks for your help.
Old 10-24-2012
Prelude Owner

Received 303 Likes on 214 Posts