Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Steering wheel not moving freely - Please help

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2010
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
mishbha is an unknown quantity at this point
Steering wheel not moving freely - Please help

Hello All,

I'm a newbie here.
I have got this problem with my second hand Honda Civic SE Auto 1.6v(2001 make). Recently bought it. Had checked the past MOT history, etc. No major faults until now.

Now the problem - I was driving around when I noticed that the steering wheel was not moving when I was trying to reverse. After a little acceleration, it was ok. Then today I was doing a turn in the road. The power steering wheel got totally stuck when it was fully locked and I was reversing. Had to really steer hard to get it back. Then while driving normal, it was ok. But there's a definite problem with the steering wheel which I'm not able to understand.

Has anyone else experienced this problem or is aware of such problem. I'm seriously worried what is wrong and how much it is going to cost me

Any help would be appreciated.
Many thanks.

Last edited by mishbha; 05-15-2010 at 02:34 PM.
Old 05-15-2010
Whachya lookin at?

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
BlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Steering wheel not moving freely - Please help