Detailing Look here for questions and answers on detailing and washing your car etc.

Best way to wash car in college?

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2006
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rescuer87 is an unknown quantity at this point
Best way to wash car in college?

I am a freshman in college and I am living in the dorms the first year so i have nowhere to wash my car. I go home once a month so i can do it only that often by hand. There are a few "hand" washes in the area. I have visited them and they first use water pressure to get the dirt off, then they rup a mit with soap over it, then rinse it, and then give it a somewhat of a dry. I can dry my own car and clean the windows in the parking lot afterwards, so this is what i have been doing. Should i keep going to the "hand" wash every 2 weeks or would a coin op car wash be better...with my own buckets, soap, and towels of course. I am just worried about the water pressure. The other alternative would simply be to wait every month for when i am home to hand wash it. I live in CA by the way so there is only rain, no snow. Thanks for all the help in advance.
Old 01-06-2006

soonercivic is a jewel in the roughsoonercivic is a jewel in the roughsoonercivic is a jewel in the roughsoonercivic is a jewel in the rough
Just use the coin op car wash. The water pressure is nothing to be concerned about. As you already mentioned, never use the soap or brushes they provide, they cause more damage than good.
Old 01-06-2006
Registered!!

DDragon7 is a glorious beacon of lightDDragon7 is a glorious beacon of lightDDragon7 is a glorious beacon of lightDDragon7 is a glorious beacon of lightDDragon7 is a glorious beacon of light
How bad are coin wash soaps?
Old 01-06-2006

soonercivic is a jewel in the roughsoonercivic is a jewel in the roughsoonercivic is a jewel in the roughsoonercivic is a jewel in the rough