Honda Civic Forum

Honda Civic Forum (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/)
-   Detailing (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/35-detailing)
-   -   Best way to wash car in college? (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/35-detailing/241342-best-way-wash-car-college.html)

rescuer87 01-06-2006 05:26 PM

Best way to wash car in college?

I am a freshman in college and I am living in the dorms the first year so i have nowhere to wash my car. I go home once a month so i can do it only that often by hand. There are a few "hand" washes in the area. I have visited them and they first use water pressure to get the dirt off, then they rup a mit with soap over it, then rinse it, and then give it a somewhat of a dry. I can dry my own car and clean the windows in the parking lot afterwards, so this is what i have been doing. Should i keep going to the "hand" wash every 2 weeks or would a coin op car wash be better...with my own buckets, soap, and towels of course. I am just worried about the water pressure. The other alternative would simply be to wait every month for when i am home to hand wash it. I live in CA by the way so there is only rain, no snow. Thanks for all the help in advance.

soonercivic 01-06-2006 05:29 PM

Just use the coin op car wash. The water pressure is nothing to be concerned about. As you already mentioned, never use the soap or brushes they provide, they cause more damage than good.

DDragon7 01-06-2006 05:38 PM

How bad are coin wash soaps?

soonercivic 01-06-2006 07:29 PM

They will dry out the paint and any wax that you have on the surface. They use the cheapest soap that you can get and they get it in bulk. You can buy a bottle of Meguiars NXT soap, thats what I use but you can get what you prefer, for probably 12 bucks and it will wash your car 15-20 times. Just make sure you get a notable brand like Meguiars, Mothers, even Turtle Wax brand is better than what you get at a car wash.

gearbox 01-06-2006 07:55 PM