Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

D16Z6 engine knock

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2019
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Loshan is an unknown quantity at this point
D16Z6 engine knock

Hello guys, I have a question, maybe it is general sense, but I'm new with fixing car myself, tried searching the web with no result... So, my question is - do I need to change main bearings when rod bearings gone bad? Yesterday engine started to knock, and it sounds like engine rod bearings went bad, a week ago changed the oil pan sealing and saw that there were a lot of (brass I think?) flakes in the oil pan, but didn't take it serious as dad said "Ah, it is normal for such old car". Why I am asking is that, I don't really like the idea to take the engine off the car and rebuild it (as I don't really have the means in doing it and already spent enough money for head restoration and all the head gaskets) because i have bought B18C4 that is sitting there and waiting for a rebuild and swap that will be done this winter (don't have enough cash right now to swap right away).
Old 05-28-2019
Dr Krieger of Modification

Received 84 Likes on 58 Posts
mac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to behold
Re: D16Z6 engine knock

You can change the rod bearings by just removing the oil pan.

Make sure not to pull the pistons down any further than they sit on the crankshaft, because if the piston rings drop below the cylinder bore, the only way to get them back in, is by pulling the head.

Make sure to remove the spark plugs to make the engine easier to rotate.