Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

94 Civic EX Starts then Dies

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2014
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
dadfixit is an unknown quantity at this point
94 Civic EX Starts then Dies

Hello,

My daughters car was running fine when she started having this issue. The car will start run for a second then immediately stall. I am a so/so mechanic and would like some pointers on where to start troubleshooting. My simple way of troubleshooting is that it is either gas or electric in nature.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Old 01-08-2014
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 94 Civic EX Starts then Dies

Does it lose spark or fuel when it quits?

Will it stay running if you don't let go of the key? (hold inbetween crank and run positions)
Old 01-09-2014
Registered!!

I am pretty sure it has gas and spark, but how do I verify when engine stalls?
I will try the Key position to see if it stays running. My guess is if not then the ignition switch contacts are bad?
Old 01-10-2014