Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

timing belt question. 96 LX

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2014
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Simpson5774 is an unknown quantity at this point
timing belt question. 96 LX

I have decided to do a timing belt on my car, its got 239k, winter is coming up, I personally put 3.5 years and 50k onto the car after getting it at 189k, no idea when it was done last, bla bla bla.

Full disclosure, this is my first time doing a project this deep, to me, Hondas seem pretty straight forward, plenty of guides out there, so why not DYI (also cost)

Ether the tentioner is bad or the belt has slipped teeth or whatever but it would appear that the timing is muliple degrees off when I get #1 cyl on TDC, even worse when cranking on the crank bolt, despite using the special honda tool to keep everything in place, there is enough 'flex' in the timing belt to keep everything from being aligned if I take the harmonic balancer off.

My question is, what is the procedure to get everything aligned up when I get the new belt on? I know once I put everything back together to hand crank the motor to make sure valves don't run into the piston, but how do I make sure the timing is right once everything goes back on and its all bolted together. I know I will need a timing light but at that point the car is already put back together.

I am gonna keep searching the net, but any help is much appreciated.
Old 09-27-2014
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts