Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

99 Civic No Acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dmac667 is an unknown quantity at this point
99 Civic No Acceleration

Hey everyone new to joining this forum but not new to reading the helpful content and advice posted on here. Let me start off by saying I am a complete novice when It comes to cars but I have been learning a lot recently by reading here and other forums.

That being said let me get to my problem. I have a 99 Civic automatic. It started a few weeks ago, I noticed my gas mileage was far worse then It was before. Really had no assumptions to why this was happening. Then one day went to work drove fine after ten hrs came back drove my car about a mile and cel popped on and it stopped accelerating. Was to tired to worry about it so I came back the next day. Some reason I thought it was a computer error so I reset the cel to see if I could make it home. I couldn't and the same situation occurred.