Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

My 98 Civic EX Speedometer is wrong.

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2011
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
LeTronique is an unknown quantity at this point
My 98 Civic EX Speedometer is wrong.

My car got stuck in the snow in the epic Midwestern storm earlier this week. I noticed after Erving the crap out of my car to get out of the ditch, that my speedometer was off. I'm a broke college student and I'm wondering how to fix it myself. What do I have to do? The speedometer is too fast.
Old 02-05-2011
Registered!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Newfiedan is a jewel in the roughNewfiedan is a jewel in the roughNewfiedan is a jewel in the rough
Re: My 98 Civic EX Speedometer is wrong.

How exactly are you determing that the speedometer is to fast? Also so you know revving the crap out of the car especially in slippery conditions can cause severe damage to the transmission and engine, when stuck its best to go slow and rock the car to get it out of the sitauation you are in, revving the crap out of makes you lose traction and can cause a lot of damage, its not the brightest thing to do.
Old 02-09-2011
Registered!!

Steven21 is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally Posted by Newfiedan
How exactly are you determing that the speedometer is to fast? Also so you know revving the crap out of the car especially in slippery conditions can cause severe damage to the transmission and engine, when stuck its best to go slow and rock the car to get it out of the sitauation you are in, revving the crap out of makes you lose traction and can cause a lot of damage, its not the brightest thing to do.
Agreed. very good advice.
Old 02-10-2011
Registered!!

Newfiedan is a jewel in the roughNewfiedan is a jewel in the roughNewfiedan is a jewel in the rough