I.C.E. (Audio) & Electrical Upgrades Post all your I.C.E. (In Car Entertainment) and wiring questions here (Audio, video etc.)

2001 Honda Civic EX electrical issues

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2009
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
imanoob is an unknown quantity at this point
2001 Honda Civic EX electrical issues

Hello, I have very little experience with cars so I'll just describe the problem as detailed as I can. I have a 2001 Honda civic EX, standard transmission. A couple weeks ago while driving on the freeway, the SRS light turned on, then the ABS light came on, then the radio light started to shutter until it turned off entirely, then all the meters shut off on the dashboard and went to zero, or empty etc. but the engine still worked. The longer i drove the more lights would turn on, such as the brake light, the check engine light, while the headlights would dim. However if i would slow down to a certain speed the warning lights would turn off and the meters would turn back on. I had the car checked as far as the battery and alternator goes, and according to autozone the alternator was fine, but the battery was about to kick the bucket so I went ahead and bought a new battery and the car was fine for about a week. Now the same problem began with the ABS light coming on, then the SRS etc. except the meters never began to function again and more and more lights on the dashboard turned on, the cruise control light, the check oil light, and others until i could no longer accelerate and the power steering went out. I have no idea what the problem is and I would greatly appreciate any help or advice you can offer so I don't get screwed over if i have to take my car to an auto-repair shop. Please let me know what I can do to fix this problem. Thanks.
Old 02-09-2009
Premium Member
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts