I.C.E. (Audio) & Electrical Upgrades Post all your I.C.E. (In Car Entertainment) and wiring questions here (Audio, video etc.)

Anti-Theft system acting up.....

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2008
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
dimplepimp is an unknown quantity at this point
Anti-Theft system acting up.....

Hey, I'm new to the posts so forgive me if it's not in the right spot..

I've recently had some issues with the anti-theft system on my 2dr coupe 2001 civic si. Essentially what happens, and this is consistent, is that I can use the remote keyless entry to lock and unlock the doors no problem, however the lights no longer flash when you unlock or lock it the first time, and there is no horn confirmation either on the second press of the lock button. Curious, I locked everything up and tried opening the trunk to see if I could get the alarm to sound, but there was nothing.

I looked at the fuses underneath the steering column for the security system and it is intact. However, when I pulled the fuse for the security system and then tried the keyless entry buttons again, the lights flashed and the horn sounded, but when I did the trunk test it obviously didn't sound the alarm because I had removed the fuse.

Now ALL of this started acting up after my girlfriend had taken the car to the mall. She was waiting outside for someone to finish up inside and had the car off, aftermarket stereo on and headlights on. I understand that the battery is draining at this point and it is an older battery, so it drained rather quickly. She had mentioned that the deck suddenly turned off and when she went to restart the car it took a long time to finally sputter up and back on. I have had no problems starting the car at all since this incident, so I don't think it's any problem with the battery aside from it being a little old.