Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Flush the Transmission on a manual??

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
flyn0108 is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Flush the Transmission on a manual??

Hi Everyone,

I have been told that i need to flush my transmission on my 2008 Honda Civic LX, Manual. I have not had any maintenance done to the transmission and am going on 103,000 miles. Should the fluid be flushed? Or changed? Whats the difference? Also, how much does this usually cost? Thanks!

Last edited by flyn0108; 05-07-2012 at 02:15 PM.
Old 07-10-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ambene is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Flush the Transmission on a manual??

First, I'm not a mechanic nor do I play one on TV. Since noone has replied to your question, I will. I had the same question as I have a 2003 civic lx and I surely did replace the tranny fluid. (MTF for stick not ATF!) From what research I have done it appears this should be completed sooner than the recommended mileage in your owner's manual - my research indicates something more akin to 30k miles. I went to the honda dealer, bought the tranny fluid, the bolt and washer and drained it myself (you'll need a decent length funnel + clear hose and a drain pan). Pretty simple really. About $60 for all if I remember right, maybe less.
Old 07-10-2012
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts