6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 In the years from 1996 to 2000 Honda released it's 6th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EK9, EK4, EK3, EJ6, EJ8, EJ9, EM1

1998 LX Project...where to start...help!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2014
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
turboduck98 is an unknown quantity at this point
1998 LX Project...where to start...help!!

hello civicforum.com!!!I am new to the honda world and picked up a 1998 LX as a long distance commuter for a couple months cause the price was right($800 CDN). In 3 months i put 25000k HWY on it and it didnt even sputter(its at 313000 on the ODO).

Now that i dont need it as a commuter i would like to sink some money into it. I would like your input please on what would be the best for this car. I need the four doors so selling it and buying an 2 dr si isnt an option!!(thats all ive heard so far HAHA).

Iwould like to do the motor/tranny first, then suspension/brakes/wheels, body/interior last.

Any input would be muchly appreciated.
Old 01-14-2014
Registered!!

Genyc07 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 1998 LX Project...where to start...help!!

Hello and welcome. What are your goals for your engine trans and the car in general? Ie, Race car or dd? What is your budget? Are you looking to go fast or look fast or just make it more reliable?
Old 01-16-2014
Registered!!

this is going to be my summer DD. I will have kids in it the odd time but fast and road legal is essentially the end game. All ive read and heard is B20 with the LSD tranny? I would like possible turbo option down the road as well.

Money isnt exactly an issue but i always look for a good price regardless. researching this on the internet brings up thousands of useless trackless answers..haha..so i figured this would be the place to ask!
Old 01-16-2014
Registered!!