6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 In the years from 1996 to 2000 Honda released it's 6th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EK9, EK4, EK3, EJ6, EJ8, EJ9, EM1

Disappearing oil and coolant 96' civic LX

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2008
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
imglowin is an unknown quantity at this point
Post Disappearing oil and coolant 96' civic LX

Hi, I have been looking at this forum for quite some time but have never needed to post thanks to all of the previous responses to other threads. I like doing repairs on my own car but I am still learning quite a bit so any help would be greatly appreciated.

coolant; I have to top off or refill the radiator it seems every 3-4 days because I will notice the temperature gauge going up past it normal range. I have replaced the thermostat thinking that it was the problem but to no avail I'm still having issues. I am not seeing any leaking indications on the ground or within the engine after driving or even from it just sitting at night.

oil; similar to the coolant, I have to refill that about every 1-2 weeks. There are no spotting or leak indications on the ground after driving or from just sitting. I have made sure the oil filter is on tight(of course not cranked on) and that the drain bolt is on securely.

I'm really stumped so if anyone could help. Thanks!
Old 10-04-2008
Registered!!

screwface is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Disappearing oil and coolant 96' civic LX

your engine could be burning away both if your head gasket is farked. if you like doing your own work, you're gonna love replacing that
Old 10-04-2008
Registered!!

Ok, that's possible. My engine overheated last summer and I had to have the radiator, radiator hoses, t stat replaced. How can I check the "farkness"?
Old 10-04-2008
Premium Member
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts