General Honda Civic Forum Archive. The archive is dedicated to storing threads for research purposes only, please place questions in their appropriate forum.

noise from tranny

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2009
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Costa is an unknown quantity at this point
noise from tranny

Hey everyone, newbie here...

I've got a 99 Civic Si and I'm getting some noise from what I assume is the clutch. With the clutch peddle out, I'm hearing a rubbing sound - kinda like the sound when a brake is dragging. When I push the clutch in, the sound goes away, sometimes instantly, other times it slows to a stop over the course of a second or so.

Also, and I'm not sure if this is related, but the tranny pops out of 5th a lot. Goes right back into gear no problem, but won't stay there for long before it pops out again. Thought this might be a setup issue with the short throw shifter in the car until I clued in on that clutch noise.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 11-20-2009
Registered!!

Cleft_Asunder is a glorious beacon of lightCleft_Asunder is a glorious beacon of lightCleft_Asunder is a glorious beacon of lightCleft_Asunder is a glorious beacon of lightCleft_Asunder is a glorious beacon of lightCleft_Asunder is a glorious beacon of light
Re: noise from tranny

Originally Posted by Costa
Hey everyone, newbie here...

I've got a 99 Civic Si and I'm getting some noise from what I assume is the clutch. With the clutch peddle out, I'm hearing a rubbing sound - kinda like the sound when a brake is dragging. When I push the clutch in, the sound goes away, sometimes instantly, other times it slows to a stop over the course of a second or so.

Also, and I'm not sure if this is related, but the tranny pops out of 5th a lot. Goes right back into gear no problem, but won't stay there for long before it pops out again. Thought this might be a setup issue with the short throw shifter in the car until I clued in on that clutch noise.