General Honda Civic Forum Archive. The archive is dedicated to storing threads for research purposes only, please place questions in their appropriate forum.

Exhaust Confusion

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2009
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
20_CiViC_02 is an unknown quantity at this point
Exhaust Confusion

So yea, I'm the typically teenage ricer I guess. I want one of those big 3 inch exhaust pipes everyone has that makes that low growl and then sounds really nice when you rev it up. I'm confused between the terms resonator, cat-back, muffler, etc.

Is it just a resonator I need to buy? Or a muffler? Or both together?
I was looking at some cheaper Borla and Apex'i universal mufflers, but don't know what to get so that I have that mean growl.

Also, how would a person install something like that? Chop off the old muffler and exhaust pipe and weld it on? I'm really new to this lol.

Thanks for any advice.
Old 08-01-2009
Premium Member
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
TRIZ Ownz ErthangTRIZ Ownz ErthangTRIZ Ownz ErthangTRIZ Ownz ErthangTRIZ Ownz ErthangTRIZ Ownz ErthangTRIZ Ownz ErthangTRIZ Ownz ErthangTRIZ Ownz ErthangTRIZ Ownz ErthangTRIZ Ownz Erthang
Re: Exhaust Confusion

Upgrade all the pipes off the engine, including the header, stock cat and down pipe is fine if you have an EX. Read the exhaust FAQ in my sig.
Old 08-01-2009
Registered!!

DanielsSTEK is an unknown quantity at this point