Introduce Yourself! New member to the site? Stop in here and introduce yourself and make some friends. Strangers = danger!!

American Muscle: Considering Converting to the H

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2009
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OldV8Guy is an unknown quantity at this point
Talking American Muscle: Considering Converting to the H

Hey, people.

I'm a partially grey-haired soon-to-be college graduate. I'm about to start a new job. Gonna have a real income. I've owned nothing but American V-8s all my life. Currently, I drive a 1996 Chevrolet Impala SS.

I love the Impala, but the thing is almost 13 years old, pushing 170,000 miles on the odometer, and gets 11mpg city (I am a spirited driver... it could probably get 13 with a tailwind).

In my quest to buy something new, I wanted something more practical, but for a while I was afriad of sacrificing performance for good fuel economy and emissions. Until I read about the 2006 and newer Civic Si. The numbers given in Honda's Spec sheets impressed me. Then I test drove one (coupe, with about 500 pounds of people in it) and was impressed even more. Then I was not surprised when I found out one of these can reach 60mph faster than my old gangster-mobile.

So if I bought one of these, I know I won't have to sacrifice performance, it's probalby near impossible to get 11mpg unless I drive in 1st gear everywhere, and based on people I know who have owned Hondas for decads and hundreds of thousands of miles, I know it should be a pretty reliable vehicle. I hope, through these forums, I can find out what people like and don't like about these newst generation Civic Si's so I can make a more educated decision as to if I should buy one!

Thanks!

Nic
Old 03-05-2009
Registered!!
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post