Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Car won't start (noob)

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
catalyst317 is an unknown quantity at this point
Car won't start (noob)

Hello everyone,

I am a bit of a beginner as far as car repairs go. I can do the basics, (oil, brakes, etc) but anything further than that, I am a bit lost, so please explain it to me as if I was 7.

My car, 2000 Civic, will not start. I have power when I turn the key, but nothing happens. The starter won't turn over at all. It was fine the last time I started the car. I was poking around to see if I could see what the issue is and I found that a wire has completely disintegrated at the starter. I'm not sure what the wire is to be able to order it or if that will resolve my issues, so I have come here for help and some guidance.

When I played around with the wire and tried to get it to touch to make a connection, when I would try to start the car, it gave a very brief tick sound (not even half a second), as if the car was trying to start, but then stopped.

I have attached a pic of the wire. (not my pic, I stole it from a different post, but it shows the wire) It is a pretty thick wire with a black mesh covering. In the pic, there is no covering, but that is what the wire looks like when I removed the mesh covering.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	civic.JPG
Views:	55
Size:	132.7 KB
ID:	89088  

Last edited by catalyst317; 09-05-2016 at 08:21 PM.
Old 09-05-2016
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts